## The Department of Geography and Environmental Science Hunter College of the City University of New York

## ANNUAL RECEPTION AND AWARDS PRESENTATION PROGRAM

Tuesday, May 16, 2023 Time 3:00 pm - 6:00 pm HW 8th Faculty Dining Room & Zoom Hybrid

~~ WELCOMING REMARKS ~~ State of the Department Address Marianna Pavlovskaya, Professor and Chair

~~ SERVICE AWARDS ~~

Anastasia Van Burkalow Award for Distinguished Service Presented by Professor Haydee Salmun and Marianna Pavlovskaya, Professor and Chair Hunter College President Jennifer J. Raab Remarks by Professors Sean Ahearn, William Solecki,

Academic Excellence and Leadership Award

Mohamed Ibrahim; Anthony Grande

Presented by Jennifer J. Raab, Hunter College President Sara Kashani, Laine McGannon, Jorge Soldevila, Fadwa Yousef, Mariam Abdullah Van

Inaugural Henry Sirotin Outstanding Adjunct Award Presented by Professor Ines Miyares and Professor Randye Rutberg Ramiro Campos Remarks by Dana Reimer, Anita Forrester, Nattapat Karmniyanont

> ~~ STUDENT AWARDS ~~ Boren Scholarship Presented by Professor Wenge Ni-Meister Jack Graziano

Hunter College Valedictorian Presented by Professor Randye Rutberg Mariam Abdullah Van BA Honors Environmental Studies and Macaulay Honors College



## ~~ DEPARTMENTAL AWARDS ~~

Alice Hudson Map Award

Presented by Laura Ten Eyck, The New York Map Society Jamie Bastian, Amy Carrillo, Lisa Gaetjens

Miriam and Saul Cohen Prize for Geographic Excellence Presented by Professor Ines Miyares and Professor Randye Rutberg Faculty Advisor: Professor Ines Miyares Jorge Soldevila

Society of Woman Geographers Adelène Moffat Award Presented by Susan Leonard, Society of Woman Geographers Faculty Advisor: Professor Wenge Ni-Meister Melissa Linares

Sally Clark Award

Presented by Susan Leonard, Society of Woman Geographers Faculty Advisor: Professor Andrew Reinmann Rosemary McGuinness

Candidates for Graduation

Presented by Departmental Academic Advisors Professors Allan Frei, Peter Marcotullio, Jochen Albrecht, Sean Ahearn

Gamma Theta Upsilon, International Geographical Honor Society Induction Ceremony

> Presented by Amy Jeu, Professor Ines Miyares Amy Carrillo and Farah Qureshi

Gamma Theta Upsilon, International Geographical Honor Society Annual Award for Excellence in Geography

> Presented by Professor Ines Miyares Maddalena Romano

\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*

The Department would like to thank our Donors for supporting our Students Awards: Society of Woman Geographers, Miriam and Saul Cohen, Jack Eichenbaum, Charles Heatwole, Alice Hudson, and The New York Map Society